Photo: Patrick Allen

In the 150th anniversary year of his birth, this programme features as its main work Nielsen’s imposing Commotio, his last completed work and an imposing tour de force for the organ. Alongside it are seasonal works by another Danish composer, Dietrich Buxtehude and his pupil, Nikolaus Bruhns, as well as music by Johan Roman (the “Swedish Handel”) and awe inspiring Estonian Arvo Pärt as he celebrates his
80th birthday year.






Organ Masterpieces from Nordic Europe

Buxtehude: Nun komm der Heiden Heiland
Bruhns: Nun komm der Heiden Heiland
Pärt: Annum per annum
Buxtehude: Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern
Johan Helmich Roman: Drottningholm smusiken (1st mvt)
Nielsen: Commotio